The Irish name for this is Lios na Grainsi, the English name being 'The Grange' and it translates to mean “Stones of the Sun”. This was built around 2000 BC by the people who brought metal and beaker pottery to Ireland. This site is older than the later phases of Stonehenge’s construction (Stonehenge was built in 3 phases between 3000 and 1600 BCE).
The Grange is the largest standing stone circle in Ireland and one of the most impressive. It is 150 feet in diameter and is enclosed by 113 standing stones. The largest stone is Ronnach Croim Duibh (the prominent Black Stone) and is over 13 feet high and weighs 40 tons. The stone circle is aligned with the rising sun at the Summer Solstice so on that morning the sun shines down directly in the center of the circle.
The entrance stones are matched by a pair of equally impressive slabs on the southwest side, whose tops slope down towards each other to form a v-shape. It has been calculated that these stones and the entranceway were aligned with the sunset of the Festival of Samhain. No one is exactly sure what types of rituals occurred here, but animal sacrifice may have occurred. No structures were found but excavators did discover two hearths, a few un-burnt human bones, some animal bones (mainly cattle), some bronze materials and numerous Neolithic pottery pieces.
The Grange Stone Circle is a very interesting place and quite eerie even during the day. The locals won’t come near this place after sunset because the belief is that the place returns to the Fey and the other worldly beings. The entities tolerate visitors during the day, but at night it belongs to them and we’re to respect that.
Credit for this page goes to Liz Guerra of Sacred Site Tours of Ireland